What causes figure

Pwk5017

27 minutes ago, Llama said:

When a daddy tree and a mommy tree fall in love, they have a baby tree. This baby tree inherits some of the traits from the mommy and daddy.

Why arent we only breeding attractive mommy and daddy trees then? Somebody needs to get on that. 

On 12/6/2016 at 2:09 PM, Pwk5017 said:

Is figure in wood caused by environmental factors or is it genetic? By "figure", im referring to curl etc. Actually, that might be another discussion point, the various distinctions of nomenclature used to describe desirable grain patterns.

Here is an extensive, illustrated, discussion of figure and grain:

http://www.hobbithouseinc.com/personal/woodpics/_discussion_figureandgrain.htm

• Like 2

On 12/6/2016 at 0:09 PM, Pwk5017 said:

Is figure in wood caused by environmental factors or is it genetic?

Yes. Figure is caused by environmental factors in trees that are genetically susceptible to it. At least that's my take on it.

I am not an expert, or even a neophyte, at tree anatomy/physiology/etc., but I have theories. Mind you, they are just theories.

Curly lumber is caused by the wind pushing the tree back and forth throughout the growing season. This waviness in the grain along the length of the trunk manifests itself as curly figure when it is cut into a board. Pinon Pines exposed to the wind in the desert southwest develop spiral grain, which is super interesting.

Flame figure is the same as curly, but the wind caused wider waves in the grain than curly lumber.

Crotch figure is caused by branching, where the grain "tries" to follow the main stem and the branch at the same time.

Birdseye is caused by a trunk which repeatedly grows dinky little branches. These branches are not viable and quickly die off, but they cause a "blemish" in the grain. If it does it year after year you get birdseye figure.

Burls are caused by injury or pest invasion.

Spalting is caused by fungus.

Ambrosia by the larvae of beetles.