Powermatic Table Saw

Knifeguy

Hello everyone,

I am a newbie and I need some good advice.  I came across a Powermatic model 66 for sale. It is 1982 vintage and it is in like new condition.  The saw has a 52" table and Biesemeyer fence with a router and lift built in.  The gentleman is asking $1000.00 for the saw.  Everything I have been able to find has told me this is an excellent quality saw.  Should I pull the trigger on this purchase or pass ?  Thank all of you for your help, I am happy to have joined this group, to date everyone has been wonderful.  I have been wanting to get into woodworking for many years now but life has always been in the way.  3 kids through college later I now have the opportunity to build and equip the shop I have always wanted.  Thanks again.

Even with the router and lift it sounds a bit high unless it was only used in a hobby shop. What router & lift and it's age would be a key decision item for me. A Porter Cable 7518 router is good. 

Ask if blades,miter gauge and a dado set are included. Any jigs would be a plus as well.

Like new condition on a 35 year old saw is exceptionally unlikely. To me like new means just that, nothing wrong not even cosmetic issues. Even if the saw were never used it would still rust during that time and blemish the table.  If it we're actually like new with essentially no use you would still need to replace bearings if not done in the last 5-10 years because they would dry out all on their own. 

1k is high for such a saw. One reason being it lacks dust control and a riving knife both of which are basic safety features on any modern saw. If it really is in amazing condition with recently replaced bearings and you r area is light on good used alternatives I would think 700 would be a more appropriate top end price. If anything else is wrong 400-500 is.closer to the mark.