Kunikei Chisels - need advice

SoCalWoody

New to the forum, hello everyone. 

Someone is selling a set of 10 hand hammered Japanese (Uchi Dashi) chisels - Kunikei. These are made by a Samurai blacksmith by the name of Yoshiro Ikeda. They are hand forged using the best quality Yasuki high carbon white steel - I've included a link to the set below. 

I am an amateur when it comes to chisels, but I want to buy a nice set and take the time to learn to sharpen, take care of, and properly use these chisels. These are used, but only for one project from what I gather. These are being sold for a good price, but I am not exactly sure what to look for when I inspect these and I'm also not really sure if this is the best chisel set for my needs, especially considering it's a set of ten, and some get quite wide.  

Any advice would be greatly appreciated and I can answer any questions that may come up. Thank you!

https://www.woodcraft.com/products/set-of-10-hand-hammered-uchi-dashi-chisels-kunikei

I don't know if a set of$2500 chisels is the best thing if you're just starting out. I started with a set of 3 Craftsman chisels that served me well but as I learned to sharpen on them and banged the heck out of them getting my feet wet in the craft, well I now use them to open paint cans.

If you have the means, they look beautiful but you should get some cheapos to learn on.

But that's just my. 02. Good luck!

Also, in Advanced Woodworking forum, look for s thread called "dovetail chisels" -it has s lot of good info on high end chisels.

9 hours ago, SoCalWoody said:

New to the forum, hello everyone. 

Someone is selling a set of 10 hand hammered Japanese (Uchi Dashi) chisels - Kunikei. These are made by a Samurai blacksmith by the name of Yoshiro Ikeda. They are hand forged using the best quality Yasuki high carbon white steel - I've included a link to the set below.