Harbor Freight

kevin_c

I am relatively new to woodworking...and still putting together a decent set of tools. Trying to come up with a list of good online suppliers too...it's hard. I can tell there are "brand whores" in this field as with any other...heck, my Dad refuses to buy "any yellow tools". I'm more interested in quality than price...but not interested in top quality either...I guess middle of the road.

Not to bad mouth Harbor Freight, but the couple of times I've looked there to buy something I've opted out because it just doesn't seem like the quality is there.

What do you buy from Harbor Freight?...What have you had success with?

only things i have goten from there are fool proof iteams like a metal punch, or a package of rulers for the classroom, box of staples and brad nails, hammer ect..... stuff that its just about imposible to build wrong. after all if you cant make a hammer you are in big trouble as a tool maker. but you better off spending little extra and geting the better tools you will end up geting what you pay for and in the long run if you trade up you wont be able to sell your tools. for example harbor frieght tool wont sell for what you paid for them. if you sell a festool saw you will get the same amount or just a little less then the origonal purchase price.

• Like 1

The 2hp dust collector (if you get the one with a metal impeller) is quite good. You can add an aftermarket baffle and get a very low micron DC for a very competitive price. I found their heavy duty pipe clamps to be just as good as any other pipe clamp on the market when I first started out. I have a bunch of 12" f-style clamps that work fine. Foam mats and moving blankets are nice and cheap. But for most stuff you do need to realize why they're less expensive than others.