Estimating for material purchase

I searched the threads but couldn't find one.

I have to build a set of kitchen cabinets (long story - rental property that rentors wrecked) and I love the challenge.

Because I am not very good at finishing (and I have a lot to fix on a tight budget) I am going to go with solid Walnut and a Tung Oil finish which I can do everything by myself.

I read online that an easy way to calculate material needs is to figure out the area in sq feet and you would have the board feet + 15% should be good enough.

Is this a good way to do it? I have about 70 sq feet and by that way I am needing to buy about 80 bf and would like to get the wood as close to matching as possible at once as apposed to going to pick up as required. 

I did math both ways on my cabinets. 1 calculating each cut and another taking the square footage. It came out close the sq ft way adding 15% should be good enough.

For me plywood conveniently has been equal to the solid lumber for cost. But i'd do the math on that and double check. You'll need sides and bottom so the math is easy.

Just making doors is a little different, might be more enjoyable than making plywood boxes all day.  But the guys above are making a point that you should consider a little more... your cost per door isnt just $20 + $10 = $30.

Rather, it is $20 + $10 + (hours spent per door * hourly rate). 

Estimate how long it will take to make each door, including all the basic steps, like milling the wood and sanding, etc...and your cost per door is more likely to be nearing $50 even at a $10 hourly rate.  But to be clear, I've also done some home projects at a $0 rate just for fun or just because I want the experience...but you should calculate the real number if the rental is an actual investment you are hoping to make money on.