Stairway To Heaven trial

TerryMcK

As well as being a woodworker I also am an amateur musician and have been for years.

I hear that a judge in LA says Led Zeps Jimmy Page and Robert Plant are to stand trial in a copyright row about Stairway. For non musicians the opening riff from this (in fact the entire tune) has been banned from being playing in guitar stores throughout the entire world (see No Stairway Denied at the bottom).

Anyway the trial is about a band called Spirit who wrote an instrumental called Taurus. Apparently the two bands toured together in 1968/1969 and a trustee bringing the litigation on behalf of the late Randy California has suggested the Stairway came about after Zep heard the song being performed by Spirit. Taurus contains a similar descending chromatic four chord progression that is very common in the music industry - I've heard similar progressions in early Renaissance music (1400-1600AD). I've listened to Taurus on Youtube and it is pleasant but to my ears is not "substantially similar", as the US district Judge stated "A jury can find substantial similarity between the first two minutes of Stairway and Taurus".

I say Let's Call Saul on Led Zeps behalf to defend this and close the case.

What do you think?

Baloney. It's got the same chord structure, big deal. There are hundreds of songs based on GCD and If you had the time you can pick them apart and hear influences and what you might think are direct rip offs from hundreds of songs using the same chord structure.

How Spirit can compare that to one of the greatest rock songs in history is self patronizing and borderline insanity.

And yes, playing stairway to heaven in a music store is similar to farting at the Queen of England's dinner table. You just don't do it.

• Like 2