Zero footprint outfeed table

SawDustB

I've been using my table saw without an outfeed table since I got it 2 years ago. I'd love to have something, since using roller stands all the time is getting old. The problem is I have no room for one. Lately I've been thinking about having a very lightweight fold down table.

There's a few things I want:

1. I want it to be very light, so it doesn't compromise the mobile base or make the saw tippy

2. I'd like to have about 30 inches of support from the back of the blade, since most things I cut are under 5 feet

3. I'm planning to fold it down for cross cuts, so I can avoid routing slots in it

4. I want it to be about 1/16" below the saw surface

5. It would be nice to be able to support it right from the saw, but I can use a roller stand if I'm ripping something heavy

6. The table will only be about 2 feet wide, centered on the blade

Here's the back of the saw. There's a t track in the underside of the rear rail, which will allow me to attach it. It will have to be set back an inch from the saw table, so the fence can move freely.

63f3797857edef51130ffa98081c880a.jpg

The basic idea is that I'll have brackets attached to the rail, that will have hinges for the table to attach to.

I'm just starting to sketch it out. I'd like to make it use a frame of pine, with 1/4" plywood for the surface. That should be light, and strong enough I think. The brackets to attach to the saw will be maple. I may add some plywood to the underside to make it a torsion box construction.

I'll add my sketch once I draw it, but what do you think?