Learning to Joint Bowed Wood

I have rough cut and rough milled numerous strips of wood for these end grain cutting boards that I’m making and am now starting to do final milling.  I haven’t done a ton of milling in the past, so I’m just learning but even with rough cutting about 3” longer than my final length, I’m finding that taking cups of about 1/4” out of some of the boards are leaving them significantly shorter than I’d like them to be.  I know I can make the cutting boards shorter in the end, but was wondering if any of you have any tips for this.  Not really a snipe issue, but I seem to be taking quite a bit of wood from the ends to remove what seems to me to be a fairly minimal cup.  Any thoughts?

It sounds to me, like you're going to plane your endgrain cutting boards in a planer.  Personally, if you do that you need to get yourself a suit of 15th century armor. The possibility of them staying together is slim to almost none.   End grain cutting boards should, be cut close to final height, and run through a drum sander.

• Like 1
  • Thanks 1

I've had a similar issue at time on my jointer - the same issue across the width because the blades were not set correctly (one side was taking off a lot more than the other - and if I set it to a very very light pass, one side would take off some and the other side none at all .... this made the board into a wedge), OR, if the tables are not set correctly. If they tgip "inwards" toward the cutter, you'll tend to take off more at the ends and then less or even none in the middle.