The afterthought Table

Bmac

Thank you for sharing this! I’m impressed (definitely not surprised) and inspired. You are right, fairly simple but eloquent. The trouble with building furniture is that at some point, you just run out of space. This table will fit anywhere! As my wife will now have a reading area in our newly enlarged bedroom, a taller version will make an excellent lamp table. Perhaps I should hold off until you make yours and @JohnG‘s combo table? 

Bmac, have you ever been to any professional Woodworking schools? 

• Like 1
  • Thanks 1

10 hours ago, Mark J said:

I'm continually amazed at how you (and others) can just whip something like this up.  A long weekend project!  It would take me a long weekend just to think the thing up, let alone do drawings.

Well you are right, the idea took awhile to figure out. When I realized I needed a smaller table in the other thread I started playing around with some ideas. I was struggling with how to do the leg structure and attach it to the top. Thinking to use the hexagonal post started me toward this design, and it wasn't until I realized since the top was going to be thicker that I could use a decent sized dowel to hold the top to the leg column that I figured this design out. And the first table took a little longer to build. But once that was taken care of, this second table really was a long weekend project. 

8 hours ago, Coop said:

Bmac, have you ever been to any professional Woodworking schools?