High End Planers

mjrriver

Hi Everyone,

I am completely new to woodworking and have been doing a lot of reading on what tools I should be purchasing to get started. Everyone seems to be recommending Lie Nielson or  Veritas brands with regards to chisels and hand planers. The problem is most planers are out of stock with restocking in July/2021 time-frame. 

Does anyone have any recommendations on other brands that would be on the higher end? 

Thank You!

Seeing that you are just getting started I would suggest purchasing some used/reconditioned vintage planes. There are several reputable online sellers and you would be able to purchase what you need to get started for the price of one premium plane. Then when the others are back in stock you can revisit the idea. If you decide to purchase a LN or LV you could sell the one your replacing for pretty close to the same price you paid for it. Also it will give you the chance to learn how to sharpen and setup a tool without the worries of wrecking it. Not that I would know anything about wrecking a new tool! :) 

• Like 1

I have quite a few vintage planes that I've installed Lee Valley PMV-11 irons and chip breakers in. I grab the vintage planes over the LN and vertias plans i have that are similar. The plane body provided it's somewhat well tuned is less important that the cutting iron mounted in it. It's not hard to tune them up.

• Like 1

I have bought several older Stanley hand planes and cannot be happier. I find it fun tanking the time to clean, tune them up and learning to sharpen them.. You can buy a variety if older Stanley planes at a fraction of 2-3 Lie Nielson or Veritas planes. Use them for a while and then upgrade in the future once you decide which planes you fin yourself using the most. 

• Like 1