What the ruler teaches....

JoeNovack

I am a Woodworking teacher grades 8-12...

In my effort to find out why my 8th grade students could not read a ruler I was told (by fellow teachers) that although the ruler is taught in 2nd and 3rd grade, it only constitutes 1 or 2 questions on the SOL...

Not 'important' enough (SOL-wise) to spend time with...

This is the mindset of most school systems across our nation right now...

Astonished by the ignorance of this I googled up "What The Ruler Teaches?" and found nothing...

Obviously biased, I started thinking about all the ruler teaches us...

Order, symmetry, estimation, fractions......

I would love to 'publish' an online paper to impress upon school systems the importance of truly TEACHING the ruler...

Here is your chance to be heard...

Fill in the blank....

"The Ruler Teaches _____________________"

I will give credit for every answer used...

See below for example...

"The Ruler Teaches Order"

~~~Joe Novack (Woodworker 35 Years)

Please do this... This could be VERY powerful with your help...

Thanks...

Joe

www.woodshopteachers.org

John...and others...

Please give me a frame of reference of experience...

Even if you have only been woodworking fo a few months, it shows your understanding of the importance of the lessons of the ruler...

As in... Joe Novack (Woodworker 2 weeks)

As a user it all has merit...

Thanks much...

Joe

The ruler teaches that I can take any random length, and divide it equally into however many spaces that I desire.

The ruler teaches that I can place anything at an equal and set distance for infinity.

The ruler teaches that I can take any length, and transfer it exactly to anywhere that I please.

The ruler teaches that I can take any rectangle, or square and ensure that it truly is square, and not a parallelogram.

Roger Turnbough

Carpenter 25+ years

The ruler teaches not only fractions but how to manipulate fractions.