Bedside Tables

h3nry

OK, so here's my latest effort at furniture making: a pair of bedside tables...

The construction is all Walnut with a simple mortice-&-tennon frame with the stretchers attached on the diagonal with dowels. The top and shelf are hammer-veneered ply with mitred frames. Finished with Deft danish oil and wax.

Practise makes perfect, and as far as the veneering goes I still need more practise, bacause the results were definitely less than perfect, although non-woodworkers seem not to notice.

This is my first attempt at string inlay, my tools were simply a scratcher made from a piece of broken knife blade attached to the end of a marking-guage for the straight lines, and attached to a block of wood with a nail in for the curves - although primitive it seemed to work.

Also my first attempt at hand-cut mouldings - thanks to Shannon and Bob for the how-to vids. With my newly acquired moulding planes I managed to avoid using the router completely, making this my first project made entirely without power tools (except for the vacuum cleaner).

The drawers were the first time I've cut half-blind dovetails, but they really weren't any more difficult than through dovetails. I remain convinced that the most difficult joint to get right in woodwork is the simple mitre, and all four of the mitred frames here had some small gaps that needed filling.

I'm still bad at cutting smooth curves. There are some curves but they are on the stretchers hidden under the shelf where they can't be seen. I only put them in for practise really.

some other comments I have, and things I learnt:

- The walnut veneer I bought for the edge of the drawer front didn't really match the grain of the solid walnut, and when the finish was applied didn't darken in colour in the same way, so it ended up looking a bit out of place.

- When the finish oil soaked into the tulipwood banding the colour really popped, and I think it ended up a bit too bright pink.