Are you guilty of sharpening laziness?

RJsumthn

Okay be honest, how many of you are guilty of being lazy when it comes to sharpening?

This is my first winter as a woodworker and since I work in a garage without climate control I can't keep my waterstone soaking all the time. I noticed today while chopping mortises that instead of just putting my stone in water and waiting for 20 minutes then sharpening my 1 1/2" chisel I would go to the 1" chisel, then the 3/4" and so on until I was using my 1/4" chisel. (I was chopping 1 3/4" square mortises). Who else is guilty of this? I know I can't be the only one

as a wood turner and starting carver i cant afford to let my tools stay dull.  and for as often as i would have to sharpen if i use a stone i would spend more time sharpening then actuly working.  when i was turning all day i had to sharpen every 20-30 min.  so i use grinding wheels regualar stone for shaping, white stone for sharpening, paper wheel for honing, and loose felt wheel for the burr.  so i can touch up in a second and move on to what i like most. 

One would hope there will soon be a corresponding poll such as, "Are you guilty of obsessive sharpening?"

I used to be lazy about sharpening, primarily because I didn't have a dedicated space for my stuff.  I took the plunge last year and built a sharpening station that hangs on the wall next to my bench.  It's nothing fancy:  I use a cheap, dry grinder with a home-made tool rest that cuts a fixed "house" bevel angle of around 20 degrees.  My finest waterstone only goes up to 4000 grit.  I have never tried shaving with my tools nor do I intend to invest in scanning electron microscopy to photograph the edges.  But it works well enough and I can touch up an edge as needed without breaking my rhythm.

Quoth Xenophon, "Moderation in all things good."