Pondering bench design

SawDustB

So as I mentioned in another thread or two, I'm looking to build a proper workbench. Right now, my work surfaces consist of a work mate, my table saw/router table combo, sawhorses, and a metal frame bench that's used for storage more than anything. I thought I'd run my current thoughts by the group to get some feedback. I'm happy if you tell me what aspects are a bad idea, although I'm still new to this so knowing why would also help.

Practically speaking, my space for the bench is around 5 feet long, or I won't have room to move in the garage. My current plan is to make it about 2 feet deep.

The basic design will be a split top Roubo for a couple of reasons. First, I like the leg vise and that style of bench. I need concentrated weight due to the short length. I also want the better access for storage and ability to put my planer and compressor underneath for ballast. Split top seems like a good idea...?

For wood, I'm thinking maple for the top and construction lumber (so spruce) for the base. If I can get a good price on the maple, I'll use it for the whole thing. I have a guy with a backyard stash to try next week. If I have to go with my hardwood dealer, it'll be glued up mostly from 4/4 due to cost, since 8/4 is over 50% more per board foot.

The top will be in the 3 inch range (finished). I'm thinking I'll have a 2 inch gap, seems pretty standard. The right side will have a 12 inch overhang, and the left will either have a minimal overhang or be flush. It depends on what's best for the leg vise.

For the legs, I'm thinking about 3x5 inches, but yet to be determined. Should the leg for the leg vise be made from hardwood?

For a front vise, I'm debating either a DIY leg vise (buying the screw and making a guide) or a metal quick release vise. Is the leg vise worth the effort? Obviously I'd love bench crafted hardware, but it would run close to $1000 for both leg and tail vise, so not in the budget.