Are new block planes under $100 really unusable?

chrisphr

So total novice here so please excuse my ignorance. About two months ago bought a bunch of power tools at a great deal on Craig's list, powermatic contractor saw, bunch of routers and table, mortiser, drill press, planer, jointer, bench combo sander, biscuit jointer, wet sharpener, bunch of clamps, and a ton of accessories. Up till now, spent most of my time organizing and building storage just so I could fit all that stuff in the garage and still park my car.

I'm getting to the point that I want do some actual woodworking. From all the instructional materials I've been looking at, I'm going to need some additional hand tools as well. While I am just a hobbyist (more like a wannabe hobbyist) I want all my woodworking screw ups to be my fault, not due to the tools I am using.

Since I am using hand tools to supplement power tool woodworking is there a different quality standard I can get away with? Searches on other forums suggest $50 block planes are garbage and I'd be a fool to consider anything less than a top of the line plane (expensive) or restore a pre ww2 plane (not going there).

Stanley acceptable quality? Groz from rockler? Or are these tools unusable for fine woodworking as some suggest?

Thanks in advance for your advice!

I've been using a Stanley low angle block plane for years and I have no complaints. The secret is to keep the blade sharp and learn how to "tune" your plane for the best results. Back in the day, I think I paid sixty bucks for it. I don't know what they sell for now.

Groz is junk in my opinion. Newer Stanley is not near as good as it used to be. My 5 year old Stanley block plane broke recently, the bolt on the adjustable front shoe was only spot welded in place and it broke off. Stanley/Black and Decker will get less and less of my business.

Replaced it with a Veritas / Lee Valley for a serious price but the quality is Awesome!