New woodworker

Stricklines

I am just getting started in this hobby. I have built two loft beds and all of the furniture for kids rooms but am looking to get into some nicer furniture for our home. This is the start of my one car garage shop. I'm looking for a lower price alternative for dust collection and also a planer and then a jointer. I have a friend with a jointer and planer but it is very inconvenient to travel to use his equipment. Any comments or suggestions are welcome 

image.jpeg

You can skimp on the dust collection and get a pretty decent DC at Horror Freight for $200.

I wouldn't skimp on the planer and jointer...and really one without the other is a great restriction. So, I would save and buy once cry once for good machines. At a minimum, I would go with a DW735X for the planer and a 6" or 8" Powermatic Jointer, but there are a lot of other good options as well.

• Like 1

The Harbor Freight DC is on sale for $170 for the next couple of days.  A lot of people have success with it, especially when a cyclone is added.  I need to add a DC to my shop, but for now my large, strong shop vac with a separator works well enough (it's not sufficient for my planer or jointer, though)

Get as big of a jointer as you can, though with your space and budget considerations I'm sure you'll be looking at 6 inchers.  Avoid benchtop jointers.  The Grizzly, as stated above, is a good option for a good price if you buy new.  I have a 6 inch Rigid that I found for a good price on Craigslist, it's good enough for my skill level.  You can learn to use hand tools for wider stock.

Be cautious if you buy used planers...the first planer I bought used worked great but the knives weren't available anymore.  I re-sold it for a loss and bought a new DW734.  The 734 works just fine.

The best cheap dust collection is a shop vac with a HEPA filter. Next step up from that is a 2 HP or more unit with a fine particle filter cartridge.