Impact driver or drill

Jon Warta

I am in the market for a drill or impact driver. I would like to start selling my work and I have been using my dad's drills for the past 2 years I have been woodworking so I would like to get my own now. I am looking at the either the 12V Bosch drill or the matching impact, my budget is about $150 so I could only get one now and get the other One later. Here is what I want to know: is an impact driver even necessary or should I just get the drill. Even further, is getting a Bosch even necessary, or should I just get two black and deckers, one for screws and one for drilling. If there is a better brand out there in my budget I would be happy to know, thanks.

-Jon

If this is stricktly for shop work, furniture etc I would definitely get a drill. I have quite a few drills and impacts and ive never used my impact on a piece of furniture or a cabinet. If you have the money, I would invest in the bosch, they make some nice stuff.

Sent from my SM-N910W8 using Tapatalk

I would also get an 18V kit like Eric posted with the slim batteries. Makita is good and this is the Bosch kit I have (and 15% off today).

http://www.cpotools.com/bosch-clpk234-181-18v-cordless-lithium-ion-1-2-in--drill-driver-and-impact-driver-combo-kit/bshnclpk234-181,default,pd.html?start=1&q=Bosch%20CLPK234-181

I've had that white Makita set since they first came out with it, and gave a set to my Son.  I think that was six or seven years ago, and both of us are still on the original batteries.  I'm sure I drove over a hundred pounds of screws with it before I bought the larger batteried LXT pair, and the LXT's have been used almost daily for two or three years, while the lightweights are assigned to the truck toolbox.

I like them just fine, and if anyone uses an impact driver more than we do, I'll tip my hat to them.

I have the ridgid set, i dont like them compared to many others but i do love having an impact around even if i dont use it often.