DIY Table Saw Fence?

MisterDrow

Has anyone had good luck making their own table saw fence? My old Craftsman 113.298051 table saw cuts nicely for a direct-drive saw but the fence leaves much to be desired. I don't currently have $300+ in the budget to buy a ShopFox or other fence and I'm wondering if if it is worth my time to just make one. I've seen a couple YouTube videos on the subject and it doesn't seem incredibly difficult but I'm still new to a lot of this.

If you have made your own fence and can offer tips in this regard, any help would be appreciated. If you have attempted to make your own fence and found it to be more trouble than it was worth, please share that info as well. I've got to weigh my options here.

I didn't make a table saw fence, but I did make one for my router table, which served me well until I bought the Incra fence.

If I had to make that fence again, I would do it, because unless a miter slot is being used, the thing does not need to stay square to anything.

But a table saw fence I wouldn't even try, unless I had the skills and tools to make a solid fence out of metal that will lock square no matter what.

Are you planning to build it with wood?

57 minutes ago, Immortan D said:

Are you planning to build it with wood?

Yeah, I've seen several made of plywood... the idea intrigued me. My current fence is light-years ahead of the one on my first table saw (a skil 3310) and I can still cut straight with it, I just have to be careful and make sure the fence is aligned properly as sometimes it can lock down with a slight angle if I'm not paying attention.

Maybe there's a way I can modify my current fence to make it be more dependable? Or maybe I'm just too locked into wishful thinking and should just save up for a couple months.