Pair of Dressers

gee-dub

This is a fun ride. Thanks again for sharing. On your table saw sled...what size are those dovetail slots?

I'm getting ready to buy one or two sizes for just that, but don't know if I should buy 1/2", or 3/4". Or both.

I'm a dovetail rookie, and any advice you can give me is greatly appreciated!

Sorry for getting you side tracked.

Actually that is a Rockler product from back when Nordy Rockler was still running the show.  Darned handy.  Rockler is a different kettle of fish today.  To quote Chrissie Hynde "Some things change, some stay the same". :)

FYI, they still have this product, or at least something similar: https://www.rockler.com/rockler-t-track-flex-hold-arm

• Like 1

On 12/24/2023 at 11:25 PM, gee-dub said:

@roughsawn - It is a 1/2", 14 degree bit.  The dedicated bit also eases the edges and I found this much easier than easing them myself on my first version of the sled.  I run a 1/4" or 5/16" straight bit at near full depth first.  This gives the dovetail bit less work to do and extends the life of the profile.

Thank you. The bit and clamps are in my cart! Versatility is almost unlimited.

On 12/25/2023 at 6:00 PM, gee-dub said:

Got a little time in today. I rip the floating panel blanks to final width.
MBRDresser(24).thumb.jpg.3aeb80f7e95384670962e607eb5103f4.jpg
I resaw them and plane them to final thickness.
MBRDresser(25).thumb.jpg.5cdf6de94721186ac30853eaf4e4f351.jpg
I use a flat-top-grind blade and run a 3/16" deep x 1/8" wide groove all around the panels.
MBRDresser(26).thumb.jpg.bafee7e4252c1cca0e231e1064e5f5ff.jpg
Most of this groove gets planed off when I raise the panels. There is a nice shoulder left to register the shoulder plane against. I failed to get a picture of the "in between" result of this maneuver :angry:

The profile ends up looking about like this . . .

MBRDresser(00).thumb.jpg.fbdc678d6d7c4f27388c68d2215565e1.jpg