Circular saw suggestions?

RJsumthn

My Craftsman circular saw has officially died. It will get about 4 inches into a cut and then it bogs down and stops. I would like get a new one because making cuts on plywood with my contractor table saw is just about impossible.

I know that everyone is going to suggest a track saw but that is just was too far over budget. I can only spend about $100, max.

Suggestions on a normal circular would be greatly appreciated.

Thanks - RJ

here's the home depot web site, buy the saw that has the most amps closest to your price range http://www.homedepot.com/h_d1/N-5yc1vZc28l/h_d2/Navigation?catalogId=10053&langId=-1&storeId=10051#/?c=1 . I'm a worm drive saw guy I always have a Skill model 77 because I'm a carpenter by trade, and thats just what I'm use to but now your talking $160.

I've had my milwaukee 7.25" for over 20 years, had to replace the cord about 5 years ago but other than that no issues. It's seen plenty of use and abuse (not intentional) and is still going strong. Funny thing is I didn't really like it when I bought it but needed it and couldn't pass up the deal, 40% off store closing. I'd buy it again in a heartbeat maybe go with the left blade model instead.

Your worm drive saws will be more expensive, starting around $160 or so.

They're the most durable but unless you're a contractor by trade I wouldn't bother.

I'd search Amazon.com and look to the comments with saw features you can live with.

Cost depends mostly on how much power you want, 13 or 15 amp.

Saws suck power more than any tool I know so I don't recommend battery operated saws.

Milwaulkee and Dewalt seem to win the most in tool reviews.

Go with the one with the best warranty.