When does one purchase a jointer?

collinb

At this time I am not building tables or doing anything else that requires edge gluing.

And I am not working with rough-cut lumber or otherwise thick stock.

Is there any other reason to purchase a jointer?

From what I'm reading, if I do small stuff then a little 4-inch class unit might suffice.

But to upgrade one should give strong consideration to 8" over 6".  But again that depends on the work being done.

An 8" seems to take the place of a dedicated planer in some applications and I have one of those.

In terms of functionality it appears that the size of the bed allows for a more accurate feeding of the medium.

And the greater weight of a heavier unit adds stability and thus accuracy. Correct?

Anything more I should understand?

Well if you're like me...right away :)  I am just starting out.  I think I'm trying to avoid the "hard work" as Raefco describes it.  Personally I had a pretty healthy tool budget to start so I got all the essential big tools out of the way up front.  With regard to 6 vs 8 I certainly debated this myself and went with 8 as it would what I refer to as my "one and done" tool.  Hopefully meaning I won't likely need to buy another ever...unless it breaks and is unrepairable. 

I opted for the higher end of the hobby spectrum with the Powermatic PJ882-HH due to a number of factors...

8" cut

Helical head

long infeed table..

Parallelogram adjustments

Weight

Last factor is more subjective...When I heard from people who owned them they indicated it was spot on when they received their machines and requirement minimal fuss to tune.  Again a factor that plays into reducing the "hard work".

my 2c