Combination square

WP1

Hi. I have been using my combination square for about 20 years now, and I need to find a replacement rule. Unfortunately the square has no manufacture name on it, only serial number 14D031 on the rule. Does anyone know who the manufacturer might be?

58 minutes ago, Eric. said:

No need to go through all that trouble.  Put the old one in a box and buy a PEC from Harry. 

Ding, ding, ding, ding.  We have a winner.  Although I have the requisite Starretts, Woodpeckers and treasured older measuring tools in the shop, my PEC are my go-to for combo and double square daily users.

No need to go through all that trouble.  Put the old one in a box and buy a PEC from Harry.  The best value in woodworking.  You can thank @wdwerker for turning us all on to Harry's PEC Emporium.

http://www.harryepstein.com/index.php/12-2-pc-combination-square-4r-usa.html

7131-4R.jpg

This is the first I've heard of this thing - at the risk of sounding like a smart-aleck, what makes it so special? I want to believe!

Yep, they're manufacturer seconds.  Usually there's a little void in the head casting and they'll grind out the "PEC" on the blade.  I probably have 8 or 10 squares from Harry of varying sizes and every one of them arrived perfectly square.  They're the same ones that Lee Valley sells...re-branded, private labeled PEC.  I sold my Starretts after Steve introduced me to Harry.

• Like 1

Thanks for the credit but I heard about harryepstein.com from someone on the Forum several years ago. This is a great community ! I enjoy learning and sharing tips, techniques and sources just as much as the rest of you do.

Do some poking around on Harry's website there is plenty of interesting items available and good prices too !  I found this drill guide there.

http://www.harryepstein.com/index.php/tool-brand/big-gator-tools.html