Planer/Jointer

Grant Goodrich

Hello!

I am very new to woodworking but am loving it so far. I've been doing a lot of research and practicing a good deal. I just inherited an old Craftsman 6 1/8" jointer/planer combo and just can't seem to figure out how to use it to plane. I've attached a picture I found online of the same model since I don't have a picture of mine at the moment. Doesn't a planer have to cut from above so the jointed side can rest on the table?

i can take more in-depth pictures of my own if that would help.

Thanks,

Grant

IMG_2147.JPG

It is not a combo machine.  it is just a jointer.  craftsman's branding of those was really confusing.  It is not a thickness planer and can not function as one.  

Well that's disappointing. I guess I figured as much since there's no way to feed the lumber under the blade. Why would they say Jointer/Planer? Because you can joint faces? Confusing. Thanks for the lightning fast response! I guess I'll keep learning how to use my hand planes better until I can invest in an actual planer.

Grant

49 minutes ago, Mike. said:

It is not a combo machine.  it is just a jointer.  craftsman's branding of those was really confusing.  It is not a thickness planer and can not function as one.  

Well, I'd think if you suspended it from the ceiling upside down with some chain hoists, and pushed the wood underneath it, it might work as a plane......

• Haha 1

10 minutes ago, Marmotjr said:

Well, I'd think if you suspended it from the ceiling upside down with some chain hoists, and pushed the wood underneath it, it might work as a plane......

Inca used to make an 8" jointer that had a thickness planer attachment that clamped over the cutterhead. I never was fond of the thing.

3 minutes ago, Mick S said:

Inca used to make an 8" jointer that had a thickness planer attachment that clamped over the cutterhead. I never was fond of the thing.