Water Borne Shoot Out :D

Chestnut

**** I pulled the below from another thread. I wanted to add to the review but it no longer made sense to put it where it was and as i try out different WB finishes I'm going to keep updating this *****

From what I've seen below i don't know that there is a point to put shellac under it. Though i don't know why it over dewaxed shellac would matter but I'm not a finish expert. Also from what I've seen 1 coat of 2lb cut shellac isn't enough to seal the wood so the WB polys were raising the gran and soaking into the wood <shrug>.

Going to start with the conclusion because that's all that any one cares about. The Minwax Oil Modified poly (MWOMP) seems very comparable to Endurovar in application and appearance. BOOO HISS yeah a $10 can appears to be as good as a $32 can. All i can speak for is appearance after 1 coat. I'll continue to the recommended 3 coats and update probably Sunday.

The surprises, High Performanc by GF. It left a waxy smooth finish that was unlike the other 4 polys. It might be able to be seen in some of the picture but i didn't notice until i ran my hands across it.

The worst finish by far is Varathane, no surprises there. That being said I use it and still like it for being a cheap WB poly to spray. I can spray it flat and get a dang fine finish.

Image1: Shows the finish in the can, finish is wet on the board in front.

5ae2850eee7f8_FinishTest001Share.thumb.jpg.f69361d3a8025d029c14b31d6f8c0540.jpg

Image 2: 4 Finishes on Birtch sans Shellac, 2 pieces of cherry with MWOMP & Endurovar (EV) The cans are in order.

5ae28508d903c_FinishTest004Share.thumb.jpg.1ab964d9e8efc4c772adf708c5ffc72f.jpg

Image 3: Same as previous with shellac undercoat. Different angle to exaggerate finishes with a more raking light.

5ae2850bd261b_FinishTest010Share.thumb.jpg.dbf62a89415d8e5191705f4af15f3b02.jpg

Image 4: Different light angle of Picture 2.

5ae2851074656_FinishTest003Share.thumb.jpg.3751710582b1ebb8c69a1e851a2cf3a4.jpg