Hi from Switzerland beginner

Brad in CH

Hi guys and gals... or should I say "Grüüezi"?  I'm a beginner woodworker and need some advice.  I am an American expat living in Switzerland for the past 14 years for work.  In the two years before moving, I had taken up wood working and had put together a small basement shop.  I completed some beginner-intermediate projects (blanket chest, table, crib).  When I moved, I had to give it all up because of space.  Most Swiss, like me,  live in apartments without garage or basement facilities.  So there is really no space to set up a personal work space to even set up a bench.  Recently I have found a local shared community woodworking shop (my German is now good enough), and was able to complete a simple project (cutting board), so now I am hooked again.  So I thought I would ask some general advice: Simple projects appropriate for a re-entry hobbyist,  woodworking courses that would provide a good basic skill platform that I could build from,  I do have seldom used balcony space at my weekend mountain apartment... I'm thinking that maybe I could build a small rudimentary bench and build small projects with handtools... any ideas about a weather-proof mini-workbenck that would be stable enough for small projects/hand cut dovetails etc? 

IMG_8352.jpg

Hi, Brad! Your idea for a balcony workbench is a good one. For hand tool work, you need a rigid, stable work surface, and some way to clamp your work to it.

Is it possible you could store a small bench inside, if it disassembled easily? IMO, that might be a better choice than trying to weather-proof it.

We've had some apartment dwellers around here. I recall one that used a heavy plank across his bathtub as a workbench.