Garrett Wade Bench?

Nevermore

Quick question....   so i'm not a super serious woodworker (less so once we had our kid a few years back)... but I've never had a workbench and would love to have one. I've had plans collected away for years of one I always planned on making... but life gets in the way and at this point I would rather pay the piper and just purchase one. I am just using my my grandfathers wooden kitchen table for projects ... but that only goes so far!

So I am seeing a Garrett Wade bench, made with "african hardwood" that is going for $1200.... and I offered $600.. which they are okay with. 5’x 21” top with two 7 ½-inch vices. It's in very good condition from the photos. 

Before I make a few hour drive to look at it.... has anyone have any experience with this brand and if the $600 is reasonable?

Screen Shot 2019-05-03 at 2.23.19 PM.jpg

I've no experience with that specific brand or style of bench but from the pic it looks pretty nice.  If you can lean on the end and not get too much wobble from it in the long direction I think it'd be worth a go.  Certainly looks stable enough and to have a good weight.  I can see a little wear but whoever used it took pretty good care of it.

22 minutes ago, Byrdie said:

I've no experience with that specific brand or style of bench but from the pic it looks pretty nice.  If you can lean on the end and not get too much wobble from it in the long direction I think it'd be worth a go.  Certainly looks stable enough and to have a good weight.  I can see a little wear but whoever used it took pretty good care of it.

All of what Byrdie said - 

Plus the design looks like, if you were so inclined, that you good build a beefier base for it sometime down the road and put the top from this on on that base.  There is probably way more lumber in that bench then what you could buy for $600.  I think unless you find something really wonky about it when you get there, I would go for it.