Do I care about files and rasps?

Coyote Jim

I have progressed far enough in my woodworking journey that I want to start introducing curves and rounds and such. That means I would like some woodworking files and rasps in my tool box. I have never once put a file or rasp to wood so I am a complete beginner here.

I want good quality tools and I don't mind spending extra for them. But I am not independently wealthy so spending $100 on a single file seems a bit silly.

For files and rasps does quality matter all that much? Will I be perfectly happy with a Harbor Freight/Home Center quality? Are there some good files you would recommend that do not cost their weight in gold?

I'm with Tom try a a cheap one then try a $100 they are not even close. When I built my sculpted bar stools I purchased  two I now have a dozen or so including riflers. I guess I'm different then some in that I have spent literally thousands on some of my power tools so to drop a couple thousand on a high quality set of hand tools didn't bother me in the least. I would go so far to say I would rather still have my Ridgid TS and my high quality hand tools than have my current Sawstop and cheap hand tools. Hand tools have improved the quality of my work a 100 times more than any power tool in my shop, but ultimately it comes down to personal preference, budget, and work habits. Not to continue this rant but I will someone posted earlier that the LN Honing guide at $125 was ridiculous when you can buy an Eclipse guide for $14. Ultimately can you get an Eclipse guide to work absolutely but you cannot compare it to the LN in anyway IMHO.  Ok i'm done sorry for getting carried away.

• Like 1

6 minutes ago, pkinneb said: