Band Saw Questions

Tobykanobe

I'm a novice in general to woodworking, but when it comes to the band saw, I have no idea what I'm doing.  Been watching videos and trying to get a handle on it.  My father has handed me down a Jet Woodworking Band Saw Model WBS-14.  Basically, a 14" band saw.  This is back when Jet products were painted blue.  I can't find the proper manual on the Jet website and I've sent them an email asking for it.

I'm not confident in the guide system.  I spent about an hour on it this morning and there's something not quite right.  My father had ordered some replacement parts, I believe the guide wheels.  They seem way too big as the blade deflection with the wheels in place is way too much.  I would like to order Carter's guide system and would also like to possibly order their Magfence, although I'm open to suggestions on other products as I have no fence whatsoever.

Also, I want to start with a new blade.  Looking for an all purpose blade, however, right now, I'm doing a lot of plywood projects.  Also, in regards to the width of the blade, I'm not sure what to order.

Re the guides hard to go wrong with Carter guides. I have the Carter mag fence and use it on occasion but I much prefer a fence attached to the saw on a rail, just more convenient to set up. RE blades for resawing I like the 1/2" Wood Slicer from Highland Woodworking, for curves and general cutting I like there 1/4" & 1/2" 3 or 4 TPI general purpose blades. 

First, if you haven't sat through it yet I recommend the Snodgrass video on setting up a bandsaw.  You can Google it or look it up on The Woodwhisperer site.  Maybe something that should adjust is stuck.  

One generally does have different bandsaw blades for different cutting tasks (e.g. resaw vs. curves) and different TPI for different thicknesses of wood.  I don't mean a dozen, but 2 to 4 blades wouldn't be unusual.  Depends on what type of cutting you know you're going to do.  I'd get them on an as needed basis.