Glue up gaps?!

Hey all. Been quite a bit since I was on last. Life really has a habit of getting in the way. Anywho... I am making a vanity top out of 5/4 hard maple and after I glued my joints up, I had a large enough gap that on the very ends I could stick a fingernail in between. I read a lot of articles on the course of action to take and in the end I cut the joint that had the gaps on my tablesaw so I could have another go ant this joint. I ran it across my jointer a few times because it seemed to me that the wood had the smallest bow and the ends were slowly pulling away from one another. 

Included is a picture of the joints that that to me were acceptable, but the question remains. Is this considered a tight joint? I've never done a table top glue up before. Maybe the consensus will be that this is perfectly normal. I just don't want to get to the finish line and trip over the joint mentally... thanks in advance for your suggestions. 

Bare with me if it looks impossible to get a tighter joint. 

1620169281379115488527665456415.jpg

A lot of folks will take the boards straight from the jointer to glue up and get a perfect joint. My jointer has the blades and not the Helical cutterhead and perhaps that’s the reason I don’t as the edge of my boards end with small chatter marks. I find that after the jointer to insure a flat side, I then go to the table saw with a good blade and get a smoother edge that gives me a better glue line. The joint in your pic is noticeable but due to the closeup, I could also probably take your fingerprints! :D

If at arms length it is acceptable to you, then go with it! 

• Like 2

What type of glue are you using? On very light woods some glues will make the glue line stick out like a sore thumb. Titebond III is great for darker woods, but for lighter woods I'd use Titebond II. Since it's a vanity and may be subject to some water here and there, I'd stay away from original Titebond for this application.