Woodworker II Failure

My wife purchased me a WWII for Father's Day. It was an ebay purchase, but the blade was still in the original packaging. Like a good spouse, she gave it to me early. I was pretty excited and put it on last night. I made about 4 cuts, all rips, last night. This morning, I went out and made my first crosscut and the pictures showed what happened. I have been woodworking for a little over two years and have never had anyting like this happen. I was getting near the end of a crosscut of 3/4" red oak on about a 4 inch board when I felt something hit me just below my sternum. It felt like I was hit with a paintball. I saw the piece of metal, a tooth from the blade. I checked the saw to see if something came loose inside, resulting in the failure. Nothing. I checked the board for nails. Nothing. I had the board secure, it was a cut free of the fence and I had a firm grip on the piece of oak I was cutting. The splintered end of the oak is a result of me jumping back after getting hit with the metal; I don't believe it is from kickback, but could be. I have had boards kickback on me before; I just don't think it happened prior to getting hit. Two teeth came off right next to each other. I think that it was a faulty weld on those teeth. I can't find the other tooth, I think it bounced of me like a springboard.

Does anyone have a different opinion as to what may have happened? What would you do in regards to contacting the company? I am not looking to get anything out of this, but I want Forrest to know that they may have some bad blades circulating (or maybe I am the one unlucky guy).

Oh, and a big safety point from this . . . this guy wasn't wearing safety glasses. I usually wear them. I was only making one cut and that was all I was going to need with the table saw. DUMB. I will never make a cut again without them.

post-2242-0-40680700-1307816707_thumb.jp

post-2242-0-30616600-1307816716_thumb.jp

post-2242-0-98825100-1307816722_thumb.jp