Old Tongue And Groove Flooring ID

MHRestorations

Pulled up close to 700 square feet of this tongue and groove flooring. This is what it looks like after a couple of passes through the planer. I've got a couple ideas about what it might be, but because I'm relatively new at identifying wood species, I wanted to check and see what species it is for sure. Thoughts?

IMG]https://images.tapatalk-cdn.com/16/01/04/1d5d32614653ea3c1410e97fc321abbc5cd5cd483.jpg

Sent from my iPhone using Tapatalk

I really don't think it is fir.  Looks much more like a hardwood to me.   80 years ago they would have used whatever was available.  Elm, ash, oak, maple and chestnut were all relatively local.  Of those it looks the most like elm or ash to me.   From the pictures it does seem to have "feathering" that is characteristic of elm.  This means the grain lines tend to feather into each other.   The grain is pretty tight in your boards so it is not as obvious as some boards I have seen.

http://www.hobbithouseinc.com/personal/woodpics/elm,%20misc.htm

13 minutes ago, C Shaffer said:

I don't know elm well but I bet against ash. The end grain does not show pores like I would expect. 

you would see pores in Elm too.  I think it is hard to tell from the photo.  The grain is pretty tight and it is just one small photo.  

Hickory would be another guess.  It can be really hard to tell from a picture of a single board.  I use hardness, weight and smell to help ID woods and obviously you can't get those from a photo :).  

http://www.hobbithouseinc.com/personal/woodpics/hickory.htm