Working with Padauk

Hi

,  I'm making a knick knack box with padauk.  I've never worked with it before, and am wondering if any one has any ideas on finishing it.  After sanding it down to 220, noticed there are these hairline-like cracks all over the place.  Don't know if this is common with this wood or what.  The other thing is that the color of the wood is a dark red, which is what attracted me to it in the first place.  What I've seen online is mostly brown.  Any thoughts?

==>hairline-like cracks all over the place

?

I use quite a bit of Padauk per year -- mostly accents, pulls, etc --- but I still mill-up quite a bit... I'm not sure about 'hairline-like cracks'... Can you take a photo?

Are you sure those "cracks" aren't just pores?  Padauk is open-pored.  They are long and wavy.

If you don't like the color of the wood, it's a lot like what we say about the weather in St. Louis...wait five minutes and it'll change.  Padauk unfortunately doesn't keep that vibrant orange-red color if it's exposed to the sun.  Eventually it'll turn a dull gray-brown.  If that's the look you want, you're in luck.

Although Trip does have some tricks up his sleeve to keep the color...if you ask nicely he might enlighten you. :)

==>hairline-like cracks all over the place

?

I use quite a bit of Padauk per year -- mostly accents, pulls, etc --- but I still mill-up quite a bit... I'm not sure about 'hairline-like cracks'... Can you take a photo?

Sorry, no photo for now anyhow.  The cracks go with the grain and are any where from 2 to 4 inches long.. They seem to be surface cracks, and show up no matter how much milling I do.  I think I'll just fill them either with grain filler or  finish.  There isn't much else I can see to fix it.  The wood came from our local hardwood supplier.  No problem usually.