Sharpening Help

Slightlyoutofsquare

Hi All: 

newbie here and first go at sharpening. Here’s what I’ve done thus far and was hoping someone could help if I am doing something wrong. 

The chisel I used was a Stanley Sweetheart 750 1/2 inch. New. From what I read it came to me at  30 degrees. 

I attempted to flatten the back on a X-Coarse DMT Diamond Duo Sharp Sharpener. I put black sharpie on the back of the chisel, spritzed the plate and moved over the stone in small circles over the face of the stone and when the sharpie was gone I flipped the plate over, put more sharpie and used the Coarse side doing the same. 

I did this same routine using Shapton Stones: 1000, 5000 and 8000 grits. 

I then placed the chisel in a Veritas MK 2 honing device set to 30and went through the grits. Also the micro bevel indicator was set with arrow facing down.

Questions: 

when we talk about the secondary bevel is it distinct only by light and polish? Or should it be a distinctly different surface plane that was created? I can never tell in the sharpening videos and what I got from my final product did not appear to give me a second surface but a surface that looked very different from the remaining section of the area. Did any of that actually make sense? 

Is the secondary bevel different from a micro bevel? If so, how do I know I have both? 

Does it matter how much of the back has the polished finish? Whole thing? First few inches? 

Also... why are the handles falling off the chisels? They come off every single one so I’m assuming it’s purposeful but it’s irritating. What is the purpose of this? 

May any rate, any feedback is helpful! Thank you in advanced! 

Pic 1: the chisel I allegedly finished lol I am guessing I wasn’t giving even pressure on both sides of the honing device and that’s why it’s curved? 

Pic 2: polished enough to reflect camera ;-) but not sure if I need to go further down the back.

Pic 3 and 4: comparison to chisel that hasn’t been done yet.