End Grain Cutting Boards

Jonathan McCully

Alright, so I’m new to the whole project journal thing but thought I’d try my hand at it with a fairly simple project.  I’m making 4 end grain cutting boards, 3 to give away for Christmas (my wife, my mom, and my mother-in-law) and another to either give away at an upcoming family reunion auction in the spring or to sell if I can find someone willing to pay a reasonable price for it.  I’m following Marc’s video for my step by step but am designing it more based on one done by the guy on WWMM.  Using 3 woods, walnut, hard maple, and cherry and this is actually my first foray into building with hardwoods.  I just recently purchased a jointer and felt like hardwood was too cost prohibitive to use prior to being able to mill my own lumber.  

So far, I’ve done a rough mill of the wood and cut to rough dimensions, stickered it for a couple of weeks while I was on vacation, and now I’ve done final milling on 3 sides. Just need to rip the 4th edge on the table saw and I’ll be ready for glue-up.  I was planning to glue my strips for each board in two parts initially so that I could run them through my planer one last time (it’s a 12in) in order to get them all to the same thickness and then glue the two halves together. Then eventually I’ll cut them into 1.5” strips, flip to end grain, and reglue.  

Have had a good time with this so far and learned a lot about milling (my primary goal for this project).  Pictures are of my stickered wood after rough dimensioning and then after 3-side surfacing today.

5EAD5927-EFE9-4404-8E81-291C15D7CA22.jpeg

525B0954-723E-49AC-B431-2B2708F32D10.jpeg

• Like 1

Looks good so far ! It's worth the time to attempt sorting the pieces into the order they were cut from the boards when you glue up . That progressive grain match is a sign of true craftsmanship. No factory made stuff has that appearance. Even with an alternating pattern the progression of the grain shows attention to detail.