Tracksaw versus circular saw and guide

Naomi

Hi everyone. I’m pretty new to power tool woodworking. We’re on a budget so I’ll be building our kitchen and cupboards in the house we’re building. I have a Bosch contractor table saw which scares the hell out of me. I’ll probably be breaking down many sheets of ply. I’m not sure there’s someone who can do it for me that is conveniently located or who I trust to do it right. I’ve been researching track saws like crazy. I live in Israel and the prices are high. Just to give an idea of price, if I’d get a nice Makita 7.5” circular saw , it would cost 750 NIS. A track saw is about 2300 NIS. I have a cordless porter cable that probably won’t get the job done. Now I am budget conscious but if a track saw will make all the difference, I’ll take the plunge (no pun intended). I guess my real question is how much more efficient (if at all) is a track saw over a circular saw with guide? It doesn’t seem like the Kreg accucut does much better than a homemade guide. Thank you for reading my long question!

Welcome! Ultimately they do the same thing with the biggest difference being on a track its pretty hard (almost impossible) to veer off the track with a guide you just have to keep it tight to the guide. If I were doing a whole kitchen I would seriously consider getting a track saw. FWIW in my opinion you should not be breaking down sheet goods on a contractor saw but that's just me. I've seen some pretty sketch examples out on YouTube that make me cringe LOL

• Like 1
  • Thanks 1

Thank you! No I would never break it down on the saw. I mean I would rip smaller pieces like drawers on it. I also think it would be too heavy for me. Safety is another reason the track saw looks good to me.  Could you make due with one fence or is it just easier to get two?