Sealing MDF can it be done?

Skjohn98

Depends in your definition of 'sealed'. I'm partial to shellac, but a poly if some sort will be more durable for a working surface. I suggest thinning it well, and applying multiple, thin coats.

What sort of activity will this bench be used for? For some things, MDF may be a less than ideal choice.

18 minutes ago, Skjohn98 said:

I am just getting into wood working and building a work bench with some MDF, can it be sealed, and what would you use

john

Something other than mdf

that sounded crass and didn't mean for it too but I wood consider another material.

3 minutes ago, Pug said:

I've had a triple layer mdf bench top for years.  I used water based poly on it, and its been pounded relentlessly.  Still holding up just fine!

Its edge banded with 3/4" by 2.5" hard maple.

I stand corrected. Thanks Pug!

My first bench was three layers of mdf, edge banded with oak and topped with a layer of hardboard. The hardboard is cheap and can easily be replaced when it gets too beat up. Plus if protects the mdf in the event of a spill. It obviously had its limitations, but it was pretty heavy and did well enough until I got further into woodworking and started getting the Roubo itch.

Sent from my iPad using Tapatalk

If you are going to use MDF follow Pugs example and use solid wood around the edges. Support  the top not only around the edges but at least every 12 to 16 inches in the middle too. MDF will sag if not supported .Use several coats of poly on all sides ( especially the bottom) water based is fine and dries faster usually . This will prevent the MDF from absorbing moisture and swelling.

Its dense and heavy which is good for a bench.  If it's what you already have started with it will do pretty good if sealed, edge banded with solid wood and supported.

• Like 2

29 minutes ago, Skjohn98 said: