A noob question about wood for a cutting board...

s1rGr1nG0

Obviously I am new to the world of working with wood. The first project I plan on making would be a cutting board for my wife to use at home and perhaps another to give to my mom during the holidays.

Today during lunch I ran over to HD to just look around and what lumber they had. Now, having done plenty of reading on this forum, (and others as well), plus watching a bunch of videos  I have heard many times that you shouldn't use oak for cutting boards. Is that correct? Also, does it apply for all species of oak or are there some that are ok to use? At this particular HD they had some red oak and also some poplar.

The poplar looked really nice but not sure if that is something that can be used in a cutting board. It seems that everything else they had was pine. I know HD is probably not the best place to source wood from and there is a place here in Houston that does sell all kinds of wood, (slabs and milled), from all over the place. I just haven't had the chance to go by there yet.

For my noob project cutting boards I am looking to use at least 2 types of wood, preferably one that is darker and color and then of course a lighter one. Perhaps in a "checker board" pattern or long "stripes" that run the length of the board. I'm still in the planning phase and of course I have MANY things to learn. I look forward to any input you guys are willing to share.

Thanks!

Oak is no good for cutting boards. Very open pores. I doubt youll have any luck finding a good species of wood for cutting boards at Home Depot. Poplar is probably too soft. You need to find a hardwood dealer that has Maple, Cherry, and/or Walnut (which is open pored also, but not nearly so much as oak). 

1 minute ago, woodbutcher said: