Greetings from Tinonee NSW Australia

oldman_pottering

G'day

My name is Geoff, I am a 56 yo mechanic with an interest in woodworking (obviously).

I started recently (last 12 months) playing with timber as I researched ways to keep my shed organised, this lead me to purchasing a cheap table saw and making french cleats and prehistoric types of tool holders.

From this I have replaced my cheap table saw with a decent cabinet style saw ( as a mechanic I have a fondness of tools ), purchased a router, a drill press, a dust extraction unit , a small sander and a scroll saw.

As most of you will understand the first step towards what seemed a simple motive ( to organise my shed) has now become a permanent hobby involving the beginning of learning Sketchup, using a table saw, making crosscut sleds and a rotating tool stand for the scroll saw and sander ( none of which I am completely happy with ).

Basically I'm having a good crack at doing this but I have many many failures with basic operations and need a place to ask advice from like minded people.

To this extent you will more likely see me asking questions about woodworking in general such as "why can't I cut this damn bit of wood straight" ;)

Enough for now

Geoff

5 hours ago, oldman_woodworker said:

Basically I'm having a good crack at doing this but I have many many failures with basic operations and need a place to ask advice from like minded people.

Then you're going to fit right in.  Welcome to the forum!  You couldn't have come to a better place.

Welcome young man, your accent threw me off there for a second, but since we have several Aussies here I was able to compensate.  You're gonna like this bunch. There's a ton of experience willing to share, and you can search this site and find a lot of things that have been answered before.  Again Welcome.