Joint/Planer First Or . . .

I always rough cut to final dimensions, then thru the jointer and on to the planer. Many times you will waste a lot of the board, even getting below the required thickness, depending on the size and shape of the board, if you go thru the jointer first. The more you minimize the size of the board first,  the less waste you have. 

• Like 1

32 minutes ago, Leaseman said:

Even though I'm a novice woodworker I feel I should know this already. But is it better to run your boards through the jointer and planer first then cut to final dimension or do you cut to final dimension first then square off with the jointer and planer?

Everyone has their own process for milling rough stock and a lot depends on the size of your jointer. I have a 6” jointet and the table length is only good for about 4’ board length. First I will roughly mark out the peices I want out of each board depending on grain presentation. I will then cut the boards into manageable lengths (4 feet or less if possible) I add 4” to each board length to compensate for planer snipe.

I will then rip saw the width an 1/8” wide on the bandsaw. This can also be done on your tablesaw if a bandsaw is unavailable. Just be careful when ripping material 1-3/4” or thicker as it will tend to relieve stress and close up causing kick back. I’ve had to insert shims into the out feed kerf to prevent binding on thick stock.

Now I go to the jointer and cleanup one face. Then thru the planer leaving a little sanding stock. I then cut the pieces to length with a cross cut sled on the tablesaw. 

I was a beginner just a year or so ago and was asking the same questions you are asking now. I had like 30 replies from every experienced woodworker on this forum and with their advise and guidance I am now able to take raw material to a finished product. 

• Like 2

10 hours ago, ..Kev said: