help with purchasing an upgraded table saw?

morrd223

Hello all - first time/long time...

trying to decide on an upgrade for my table saw.

Current set up is an old and hard-used Delta/Rockwell Model 10 contractor saw -- but I am looking to upgrade to something a little better with a few more modern conveniences.

I was looking at hybrid saws since I want something relatively sturdy like my Rockwell, but I am only a hobbyist, so a huge cabinet saw feel unnecessary.

Money is not quite 'no object'; but Im ready to make a serious investment that will serve for years and years.

My biggest limitations are power and space - I can only access 120v power at the moment; and I'm a little space constrained, so ideally the saw would be able to roll up against the wall when not in use, while rolling into the middle of the shop when using it (my current set up just has heavy duty casters bolted to it).

I have seen a few recomendations online for the Rigid R4520, the SawStop contractor saw models, Grizzly's (though I'm not sure if I can move them around as easily).

Any recs/thoughts are very welcome.

If I were in your shoes, I would skip the hybrid saw and go straight to a cabinet saw. Most hybrid saws have the same trunnion setup your saw does, so going to a hybrid saw won't buy you much.

I have the same saw you do - bought it 40 years ago. I upgraded the motor to an industrial quality 2 HP TEFC motor and upgraded the fence to a Biesemeyer 52". After aligning it, the saw has been reliable and done everything I have asked if it. I am having a hard time seeing what kind of an upgrade a hybrid saw would be. 

• Like 1