Stabilizing the bandsaw and 1" blade

Scooby

Howdy,

So I pulled the trigger for the Harvey Ambassadr C-14 bandsaw and have a couple of questions. I am also new to woodworking and this is my first bandsaw.

• The bandsaw is almost 400lb, 71" height but the base is only 24" x 15-3/4". I'm afraid it will tip easily once I put it on a mobile base. I heard people say bandsaw is top-heavy but it doesn't make sense to me. I'm thinking of bolting the base to a wider foot, say 2 pieces 3/4" x 28" x 20" plywood glued together, before putting the saw on the mobile base. Do you think it will help to stabilize the saw?
  • They say the saw can accept 1" wide blade but I cannot find any 1" blade on the market except the crazy expensive 125" x 1" Resaw King from Laguna. For cutting the curve, I will buy the 125" x 1/4" 6tpi blade from Timber Wolf. What's your suggestion?

My bandsaw weighs 345 lbs and the motor is only 24 lbs of that(?).  The cast iron wheels, guide post assembly and heavy table are all above my waistline.  Despite all that mass above the half-height mark it is not tippy at all but I don't move it far. The base has steel wheels which make it pretty stable when sitting still but it is only designed to move enough to allow clearance or access.  A base designed for rolling across the shop on a regular basis would do better for more regular moving around if that is required.  I did bolt my bandsaw through a double layer of 3/4" plywood that is about an inch larger than the bandsaw's base in every direction and then on through into the mobile base (door clearance). 

• Like 1

Thanks everyone for your tips. I wonder if the Timber Wolf Bandsaw Blade and Sawblade.com are good brands.

I kind of understand the TPI but not very clear the difference between flex back vs hard back character of the saw blade. Is it true that flex back is preferred for cutting curve/plastic while the hardback is better for resaw?