Spring Joint

JosephThomas

Working on a spring joint for a panel glue-up (it's for the top of a sideboard cabinet).  This is my first time, and I've been tinkering with it, and taking them back to the bench over and over (4 or 5 times now), and I'm not totally sure if I have the right amount of gap or not.  Here's my setup, I took successive passes starting in the middle, lengthening the pass each time...

alueHr9.png

At one point I had messed it up and opened up the sides, so that accounted for a couple of the extra repetitions, but still...I'd like to be done with this before 2018 :)

So now if I leave it un-clamped it looks like this (the boards aren't the exact same length, I just have them rough cut to length, so ignore the shadows on the ends):

0nhuEBs.png

CMGyH3l.png

(and here's the gap in the middle of the board...I have no idea if that is too large or not. These are 6/4 walnut boards, approx 5' in length, one is 8" wide, other is 11" wide):

GwIV1Xd.png

Now if I add "light clamping pressure" this is what I see...I have no idea what light pressure means, so I added a single HF clamps in the middle and only lightly tightened it:

wOnjUSN.png

9afLCcb.png

(however in the very middle the gap is smaller but still visible...again, I have no idea if this is too much gap with light pressure or not):

cNLW9OX.png

Then, if I tighten the clamp a bit more (but still just that one single HF clamp, it closes up nicely..again, no idea how to messure whether this is now "medium" clamping pressure or what):

pTNMLbq.png

For those that have done this before, what do you guys think? Am I done? Do I need to have less gap in the middle before clamping it together? Those are 1/64ths on the ruler, for reference, not sure if that helps.  Thx guys.

• Like 2