New router

curlyoak

1 hour ago, treeslayer said:

nice score @curlyoak, i like an up-cut spiral bit for mortice work and i think 1/2' shank is the way to go. do you plan on cutting mortice joints deeper than 1 1/2" ? if so why not get both?

I do not know the difference between an uncut or a down cut. If it matters this router is hand hold only as I have a table setup already. On table tops or wooden counters I cut them to rough length with a hand held saw. Big and heavy pieces that you bring the tools to the work. I frequently do bread board ends and true the cut with a router. So is a spiral bit the right application? I have no experience with spiral bits. In the past I would use a morticing bit. Also on big pieces this router will do profiles to the edges. In sizes that are smaller it goes to the table. My new Jessem.

I think a couple of sizes is smart. How does spirals compare to straight 2 bladed morticing bits? I imagine the spirals can be sharpened.

1 hour ago, G Ragatz said:

Congratulations on the new tool.  I have its little brother - the MOF001 - and like it a lot.

Here's a spiral bit with a 2" cutting depth.  I don't know the brand, but at least it seems someone makes them this length:

My next router is the little brother. Thank you for finding the bit. I hope to hear more on this thread about spirals, upcut, down cut, and applications.

Up, or down throws the chips by your choice of direction.   Supposedly, cutting down on the shoulder is supposed to leave a smoother shoulder, but I haven't found this to make enough difference to matter on wood.