Choosing between Shop Fox W1837 and Rigid R4520 + Incra TS-LS

Scooby

Hello everyone,

I am a beginner and trying to buy a good table saw in the range $700-$1000 as a long term investment for my hobby. I am impressed by the Shop Fox W1837 with following points:

• 2 HP, 120-Volt/240-Volt, single-phase (prewired for 120-Volt)
  • cabinet-mounted trunnions
  • serpentine belt and pulley system for smooth and quiet operation with better power transfer than a standard V-belt drive system

On the other hand, the Rigid R4520 which is quite popular with both the good and bad reputation. It is cheaper ($750 vs $1000) and the build is not as good. It does not have any of the good points listed above but I can install the Incra  TS-LS ($500) later if I want to increase the accuracy. Maybe the Rigid saw is more than good for me to start my woodworking journey.

So let me know what do you think? I am not so hurry with the purchase because I need to setup my shop in the garage first. Thanks in advance!!!

I think I would lean toward the Grizzly if it were me.  Grizzly has a pretty strong reputation and customer service.  That Incra fence will go on the Grizzly as well if you wanted it.  I have the Incra LS fence system on my router and really like it.  Just note that it takes up some extra space to the right side of the saw so it will increase the over all foot print of what ever saw you end up with. 

• Like 1

I was looking on Grizzly's website last week and I saw that Shop Fox on there making it look like it was a great discount when it was at that same price on other sites.  I hate sleazy sales practices.

I'd rather pay $200 more and get the $1200 Jet.  They stand by their product by offering a 5-year warranty.  

https://www.amazon.com/Jet-725005K-ProShop-Stamped-Steel/dp/B07BDSSCJV/ref=sr_1_5?dchild=1&keywords=jet+table+saw&qid=1590783553&sr=8-5