video: Sharpening My Way

Tom King

I do this stuff for a living.  There is no real need for a hobbyist to spend extra money to save a little time. Three stones would probably be a plenty if saving a little time didn't really matter.

I remember one job we did, working on an old floor, where we had to remove about 35 cu. ft. with chisels around the edges. Think about a block of wood the size of a sheet of plywood a foot thick taken apart piece by piece with chisels. A job like that, where chisels were sharpened hundreds of times showed me where the weak points were in my system.  Time mattered for that.

I felt like I was working in slow motion in the video, and kind of fumble fingered by thinking about what I was going to say instead of what I was doing, so it seemed a little slow, and clumsy to me.  Probably not really bad for taking a chisel that had just finished getting paint up off of a hard brick floor, up through super sharp though.  I wish I had done a practice run before making the video.

• Like 2

• 2 weeks later...
  • 2 weeks later...
6 hours ago, Tom King said:

socoj2,  I'll type out a long response tonight listing the pros and cons, and methods of the different systems.  I've done all of them for long enough to understand each.  No time this morning.

Tom,

I hope you don't mind a few questions here, I'll number them to make it a little easier.

1. For how do you handle sharpening wider things like blades for hand planes? A lot of those get to be about as wide or wider than the stones I commonly see. Do you use the stone at a diagonal?
  2. Also where do you buy the stones from?
  3. What do you think about the two sided style combination stones.