Plunge router recommendations

Andy Wright

I have the Bosch 1617 and I am pretty happy with it.  Everything on it seems to be user friendly.  I am still somewhat new to it and it is the only plunge router I have owned.  I didn't pay for it, it was a gift but because of the price and HP it was the one I was looking at to purchase.

I also have the Bosch 1617 and can vouch for it. I went ahead and bought the edge guide too. DC is not great but honestly, DC is not great on any router, including the Festool OF1400. I recently used the router and edge guide to make a bunch of mortises for a workbench. The Bosch 1617 had plenty of power and made nice clean cuts. I would rather spend the money on higher quality bits. 

Link to the edge guide

https://www.amazon.com/Bosch-RA1054-Deluxe-Extraction-Adapter/dp/B00005RHPP/ref=pd_sim_469_1?_encoding=UTF8&psc=1&refRID=PWFW4C3VE88YV9EKMT11

• Like 1

I stumbled onto Milwaukee's routers several years ago due to Lowe's blowing them out.  The quality difference between them and my other routers was pretty humbling.  My other routers with the exception of my Bosch Colt have all gone down the road but, more Mil's followed me home.  I love that you can swap the motors and bases with different motors.  If I need a lighter motor in a plunge base for an awkward cut I drop in a 5615.  If I need more oomph or variable speed, I drop in a 5616.

I cannot speak for the quality at this time (so sad the era we are in right now) but, the ones I bought years ago are used weekly and have done nothing but run.

routers.jpg

I've also run 5625's in the router table for the last 8 years without a hiccup.  Bearings are as tight and quiet as the day it went in.  I credit good dust collection with the long life because it sure isn't from me babying it.

• Like 2

11 hours ago, wdwerker said: