Table saw purchase?

Matt

Hello, I am a new aspiring woodworker.  I have a question for you. I am just starting out and I am looking for a good table saw.  I believe it is the centerpiece of the woodworking shop and so I am looking for something that I can work with now as well as once I am a more seasoned woodworker.

What price range should I be looking at?  I'm NOT wealthy so I need to get the best bang for my buck.  Also, any specific make/model that you would recommend?

Thank you !!!   

Welcome to the Forum Matt!

What exactly is your budget? Its hard to give a recommendation based on "Im NOT wealthy." Im far from wealthy and spent 5k on my saw so its all perspective. Budget will help determine if you are shopping for a jobsite, contractor or cabinet style saw. I buy the best that I can now so I don't have to sell and buy new tools later. 

Welcome to the forum Matt.

I used a Delta contractor's saw for 20 years before a recent upgade.  But having said that I wish I had known about Grizzly at the time because I think you can get more bang for the bigginner's buck

Edited by Chet K.
  • Like 1

To: mat60, RichardA, Shaneymack, Chet K,  and weithman5

Thank you all for your warm welcome and helpful feedback!!!!!!  :)

What exactly is your budget? Its hard to give a recommendation based on "Im NOT wealthy." Im far from wealthy and spent 5k on my saw so its all perspective. 

LOL  yes, Shaneymack, "not wealthy" wasn't the most precise phrase to use....... sorry  :D  I'm hoping to stay somewhere around $800 to $900 if that is possible.  My hope is to be able to find a cabinet saw as opposed to a job-site/contractor saw.

It seems that many of you speak highly of the Grizzly Tools.  I am going to look into that.  I noticed that many of the woodworkers I see on YouTube use a 10" saw.  Is that a fairly standard thing?  

Thanks again to all of you for your advice!! 

Welcome to the forum Matt.