Walnut Vanity

Denette

I'm making a vanity for a client. Solid wood exterior with plywood interior and drawers.

796291410_ScreenShot2018-12-02at8_17_15AM.thumb.jpg.87b042042e465b985c33fb03ef5b5f09.jpg1215616874_ScreenShot2018-12-02at8_17_37AM.thumb.jpg.a79ad84f87fd7b8ebc46c6273102905f.jpg1645335756_ScreenShot2018-12-02at8_17_05AM.thumb.jpg.dd7cd463cd2b95d7d974a784caf7d8b2.jpg

They want it to be dark, so we went with walnut. Here's the material as it arrived:

IMG_2142.thumb.JPG.b694e1d3ce29e39dd65e0bf7c386e347.JPG

I finished laying out the pieces and got all the solid wood down to its rough dimension yesterday. It's my first time to lay out the pieces like this - I don't know why I haven't done it before, it's a great preview & helps me figure out the grain orientation a lot better.

IMG_2153.thumb.JPG.c4b0fbd5c206b843d48926c9389825de.JPGIMG_2154.thumb.JPG.5f37bd162ef760fe0055127ac6f37d27.JPGfullsizeoutput_2878.thumb.jpeg.05feb9ca1f4000d630a4cee9ccd11543.jpeg

I'm 95% happy with the layout as it currently is. The only piece I'm not in love with is the center stile on the right side - just a case of making do with limited stock. It'll be next to a toilet for heaven's sake, so I'm not super concerned. If I'm committing grave error let me know, but I don't think it's THAT bad. Good color match at least.

My client wants it darker. I hate, hate, HATE using stain, so I am looking for a better way. I played with some dark danish oil, to moderately pleasing results. I was reading Jeff Jewitt's finishing book last night and he mentioned Iron Sulfate as a way to semi-naturally / chemically darken walnut, so I'm going to order some of that and test it out. It's pretty cheap and seems very safe - it's sold as an iron supplement for people to drink, so it's probably way safer than ordinary stain anyway.