Help, I just ruined my new table

nickinnh

Hello all,

im new to woodworking and just about completed a new farmhouse table for our new home. 

Then I ruined it.

The surface is pine, and I just applied two coats of Watco Danish Oil in dark walnut, with plans to poly after.  The color came out well at first and then when it cured, it’s a blotched mess.  I either totally spaced out or thought that pretreating the wood with natural oil was optional (as the can says), but it is definitely NOT optional.  

Please, is there a way I can fix this issue? I doubt I can use stripper on the  cured product, and I’m worried about sanding since it absorbs. I’m totally destroyed.  This went from a project I was proud of to one I’m thinking of not completing

Thanks 

F17F39EE-D625-479B-9216-545B2199F188.jpeg

C8DA1241-3BCC-41C7-A824-431D66575AD3.jpeg

1C5649CA-6956-4761-913C-C0D0018668AF.jpeg

00E6A7AF-6686-4190-9D75-E22E0F21D500.jpeg

Oils penetrate pretty well and pine has a variety of soft and softer areas.  It really just looks like stained pine to me.  You obviously had a different expectation.  I would sand and finish a bit of scrap the same as you did your top so far.  Then add the poly and see if it looks better to you; it will look different after the topcoat and possibly closer to what you are after.

For pine that looks pretty good.

Pre-stain conditioners are going to improve the situation slightly but will not entirely solve blotching. If you want to get a perfect even color coat spraying a water born dye with a conversion hvlp or turbine hvlp is the only way to get blotch free results.

If you want easy hassle free staining, chose a wood like oak or ash that isn't prone to heavy blot. What they are charging for construction lumber these days oak is barley more expensive.

So far, these comments are making me feel better. I suppose my expectations were different.

ill create a little sample area to finish and see how it looks.