Template Routing - End Grain Tearout

I'm new to template routing, so I'm sure I am making some rookie mistakes. I'm having some issues with tearout when routing around the end grain. I'm currently using a 2-flute straight bit. I've got a couple of 3-flute bits ordered, one up-shear/upcut and one down-shear/downcut. I'm hoping that will do the trick but I thought I'd ask the pros here for any additional tips. Here are the bits I've ordered, I'm using a Triton TRA-001 3 1/4 HP: Amana 45475.

I can get most of the way around the piece, but inevitably there is one part where no matter how slow I move, the bit grabs and thinks go south. I've got it trimmed down to less than 1/16" off the curve with the bandsaw but that doesn't seem to be enough to stop this. I've got the speed dialed down to approx. 11,000 RPM, anything lower and the bit doesn't actually remove any material. I've looked at the Big Daddy bit that Marc mentions from William Ng's school, but the diameter is too large for some of the smaller radii that I am cutting. Any suggestions?

-E

Tearout.jpg

Since the band saw does not leave a real smooth cut, try smoothing the surface with and paper or a rasp, so the bit does not catch on the rough surface left by the band saw.  Also, I tend to run faster rpms on end grain but not so fast as to burn the wood.  I would interested to hear other opinions.  Wdwerker posted while I was typing this - I like his thought.

You linked to straight bit,  are the up cut/ down cut straight or spiral bits? If straight, I would definitely consider getting a spiral. 

It looks like your taking quite a depth, in one pass.  can you not take it a 1/2" at a time? 

Removing a 16th in end grain shouldn't be too bad. I would personally not be dialing the speed down. . I'd be jumping up.  More shears/second hopefully less chance to grab and break out.  Not sure what you mean by it not removing material below 11k rpm..  it's still going to cut